House matching in the new year

Happy New Year friends!  It is so exciting and refreshing to start anew each year.  Each year brings the possibilities of hope and promise, and it is a great time to think of change for the better.

I often advise clients on house matching, or finding the best house for their personal situation at that point in their life.  Many people will buy a house based on previous needs or perceived future needs, and will live for years in a suboptimal comfort because they didn’t think things through on what they really need.  They may be living in a house that is too small for a growing family, or a house thats too big for a small family or single person (have you ever met someone who has an upstairs that they haven’t entered in months?).  Now may be the time for you to consider if your house matches your situation.  With most of Austin moving toward a buyer’s market, it might make sense to snag a good deal on a home that is a good match!

Here are some questions to ask:

1)  Do I use all the space I have right now or do I find myself shopping for furniture and decorations just to fill it?

2)  Do I have to drive long distances to visit the stores and other venues I frequent?

3)  Is there too much for me to maintain in my current home?

4)  Do I enjoy the social fabric of my local neighborhood or do I find that I am somewhat of a misfit?

A home that is a good match helps eliminate stress, provide enjoyment, more time, and efficient use of money and resources.  I wish you the best in 2009!

Leave a comment